Expect the Unexpected – Walking Wales

Can you remember when plans did not unfold as designed? Murphy’s Law, expect the unexpected at its best. I grew up trusting very, very few; I was definitely not Eeyore or Rabbit. However, outwardly, Tigger’s exuberance and positive outlook was mine, minus the confidence. In the last blog, people watching and all the doubts that flooded my heart and befuddled my mind days before my departure for Wales was covered. I paused to wonder what in the world I had been thinking: traveling to another country with 5 other people I knew little about; living with these fellow sojourners for 10 days in close quarters; depending on God completely; what could go wrong? I was planning on doing as I was told to do by the leadership that was put into place for the trip and then, oh yeah, follow the Holy Spirit’s guidance; pray, pray, pray! Everything was in order, in my mind at least. So what does the unexpected look like while traveling in a foreign land? Read on….

During our trip we had done ‘prayer walking’ and ‘narrative mapping.’ In essence, narrative mapping is getting to know the locals, their stories, their views on God; we were information gathering or collecting. Our other main task was wonderfully described by a local teen that captured my heart, Cameron said that prayer walking was ‘prayer … walking.’ For those who could not chew gum and walk at the same time, this was a challenge. At times we would pray out loud as we walked or stood still; often times we would silently pray as we walked, trusting in the Spirit to guide our prayers for the people, businesses, town and the whole of Wales. The impressions God left upon my heart for the Welsh people I will save for my next and last blog about my trip.

Connecting with the locals was my favorite. Hearing their stories helped me see their perspective and allowed me the privilege of praying for them. The first day of narrative mapping we were shown by example how to chat with locals while getting to understand their story and perspective on God. The second day, three of us were walking. Our leader told my teammate and I, “OK, this afternoon you do the mapping yourselves.” Now, I was with two men that truly had a gift to talk with anyone, I only ‘looked’ like it. Even so, my partner and I were at a loss of how to start. I was down right nervous, stumped on how to talk with anyone! Warning: putting someone on the spot can cause babbling, rapid heart beats, nervous laughter, mild sweating .

We tried one store to no avail and then decided to walk some more only to see our friends talking with some locals. They were not stumped!

So, with determination I took a deep breath and dove in, as Steven Curtis Chapman sang. We went into a travel agency and as I spoke with an agent the realization that I did not have the faintest idea how to start asking what was really on my heart almost completely curtailed my effort. I plowed forward any way, praying God would guide me. When we left the agency a few moments later to discuss what the agent shared with me, my thoughts would steer toward my failure. I felt that when I dove in it was to a pool without water!

The bigger question was not whether or not God was guiding me, it was: was I listening?

It wasn’t until later that day that the Lord whispered to me as I meandered around the streets window shopping alone.

Slowly taking in the beautiful town of Caernarfon, I heard the clear whisper of the Spirit, “Follow me. Listen to me. I will lead you.” I entered a small store that held some trinkets that beckoned me from the window display. As I browsed listening to the store owner speak with other customers, I knew I needed to listen, really listen. Earlier in the day at the travel agency I was working within my own capabilities and thoughts and not led by the Spirit.

I was too impatient and maybe anxious to ‘do something.’

During the week in Wales I had frequented a few shops many times, each time engaging the workers in conversation and thanking them for their service. Many times I wondered, why had God sent me on this trip with so many others more gifted? Then, one of the last days there, at the same store with the trinkets, two of my teammates and I went in and had a ball talking with the shop owner, gathering even more information. We were the only 3 customers at the time. We heard her story of how her shop came to be and were armed with knowledge of how to pray for her. We even took a few precious things home for our loved ones. I still pray for Sue.

By this time I was not so consumed with my own failings but overwhelmed by God’s goodness and guidance. It had nothing to do with me at all, it never did. My willingness to listen and do was all that He desired; old school would term this concept as obedience.

One of the other shops that drew me was a chocolatier. The first time we went in, three of us went in to talk and see what they had to offer. We spoke with the owners for a while and told them we would be back later in the week, armed with knowledge of various events to unfold in several day’s time. When we began our trip in Wales we were told that Wales had been experiencing a heat wave like they had not experienced in years. It did not rain one drop while we were there, unusual; it was also close to 90 degrees several days, quite unusual! Two days prior to a major event in Caernarfon, including celebrities and media, there had been record heat. We found out the next day that this small specialty candy store was not equipped to handle the high temperatures. When we entered the store, our lovely friends were optimistic about repairing their refrigeration units however, they were burdened and I could see it, feel it.

During this visit there were four of us with most making purchases. The Spirit whispered again. My teammates were almost completely out the door when it was clear I needed to talk with the woman. You see, she had told us that she and her husband had moved back to this quaint town and opened this store for their retirement. Because of the heat wave they were looking at a loss of much money, coupled with the refrigeration units needing to be repaired. So, I asked if I could pray for her. She quietly said, “Yes.” I bowed my head and prayed out loud for her, her husband, their business and their customers, thanking God for his provision and for their friendship. I asked God to reveal himself to them and care for them. I opened my eyes up to a thankful woman with tears in her eyes. That is being an instrument of God’s love. Yes, I still pray for them both.

This reminds me of the times that I so desperately want something better, something more and I am unable to see it. God promises us that if we seek Him humbly, He will answer. Often we just do not like His answer or the time frame in which He answers. I want to do it my way, in my time and get the results I want, or not. Just like my eagerness to gather information, I was doing it in my power, in impatience. At times when I do not want to do something but find myself forced it can be difficult. When I yield to God’s whisper for obedience, I am rewarded.

God is in the details of our lives. He is not like a dictator demanding us to perform and punishing us when we do not. He lovingly has his hand in all aspects of our lives, desiring for us to see, hear and follow. On one of the flights to Caernarfon I was seated in the ever popular middle seat, at the bulkhead no less, between two gentlemen. As we were taxing to our gate I had read a book on missions work. The man to my left saw it and asked about it. We had a great conversation about the book, my trip, his faith and family. After deplaning, this gentleman saw several of us waiting for others. He came over and asked if he could pray for us and our trip. Huddled together in the middle of the airport we worshiped as we prayed together.

What a beautiful picture: gathering together, even if for a blink of an eye, to encourage one another on our journey of faith as we glorify God the Father, minister as Jesus ministered and follow the counsel of the Spirit.

Prayer...walking in Wales.

Prayer…walking in Wales.

About Mercy17

Just a daughter, sister, aunt, friend, wife, mom, listener, teacher, reader, researcher, analyzer, artist, observer, who is flawed, sinful, simple, weak, a desperate vessel running the race set before me with expectant hope in, faith in and love for my Savior, Jesus, with abiding thankfulness in my heart.
This entry was posted in alone, believer, encouragement, faith, hope, life, mercy, peace, Uncategorized, Wales, Walking, women. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment